The Award has started its first cycle in 2011, and it was restricted on the allocated Mosques in Saudi Arabia. In 2014, The Award held its second cycle in a wider scope encompassing other Mosques across the Gulf countries. Simultaneously, the third cycle of the Award held in 2017, is planned to compromise the entire summation of Islamic countries. Progressively, the fourth cycle held in 2020 is expected to be a worldwide award for Mosque Architecture.

3rd Cycle

In March 14, 2018, the award has announced the beginning of the third cycle’s nomination which dedicated to mosques built in the Muslim countries. Nevertheless, unique mosques in terms of functionality, environment-friendly, spirituality, and strong integration with the urban context are intended to be nominated for this cycle and the winning projects would represent ‘mosques of the twenty-first century’ with high respect to the mosque identity.

Nomination Terms:

  • Mosques must be built and in use
  • Built date must be after year 2000
  • Mosques must be within the Islamic countries
  • Previous cycle’s winners are not eligible for nomination.

2nd Cycle

In February 2014, the award announced the beginning of its second cycle to cover the mosques within the Gulf countries with an approach that draws inspiration from local traditional historical contexts, and adheres rather faithfully to these contexts’ architectural languages and principles, but also update them to address contemporary functional needs and visual sensibilities. Nominated mosques were divided into three categories; Central Mosques, Jumaa Mosques, and Local Mosques. In April 2016, jurors have met for 3 days and filtered the nominated mosques (122 mosques) and came out with the long list (44 Mosque). Consequently, shortlist (13 Mosque) has come out after the filtration the longlist. Finally, the three awarded mosques were chosen. In March 2017, Under the patronage of HRH Prince Sultan bin Salman and HRH Prince Khaled Alfaisal the ceremony took a place in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

1st Cycle

Any Mosques completed in Saudi Arabia since 1970 was eligible for nomination for the award’s first cycle. the award assessment of projects submitted emphasized issues relating to their architectural composition as expressed through form, space and surface articulation; the construction technologies they employed ; the sense of spirituality that their architecture inspired ; how the architect embraced the act of prayer ; and the influential relationship the mosque had with its immediate surroundings.